The Ministry of Agriculture and Natural Resources is one of the first generation Ministries set-ups in 1967 when States came into being in the Federation. It co-ordinates and implements Agricultural policies of the Government through six (6) Departments, Namely:
i) Administration and General Services.
ii) Planning, Research and Statistics.
iii) Livestock and Poultry Services.
iv) Agricultural Engineering Services.
v) Veterinary Services.
vi) Agricultural Services, Produce Inspection and Fisheries.

There are also three (3) Parastatals operating under the supervision of the Ministry, these are: i) Kano State Agricultural Supply Company (KASCO).
ii) Kano State Agricultural and Rural Development Authority (KNARDA).
iii) Kano State Zoological and Wildlife Management Agency

Read more


Supporting agricultural producers, processors, and marketers by promoting modern/improved agricultural technologies to increase productivity and incomes thereby reduce poverty and enhance food security and natural resource conservation.
  • 100%


Comprehensive agricultural development that seeks to exploit the State’s abundant land, water, human and other resources for an all-year-round agricultural production integrated with agro-processing and value addition that will contribute significantly to the economic growth of the State.
  • 100%

Organizational Structure